Fraternities have been an important part of the University of Texas at Austin since the University's founding in 1883. Kappa Alpha, Kappa Sigma, Phi Delta Theta, Phi Gamma Delta and Sigma Chi are amongst the earliest chartered, establishing chapters in 1884-86. Since that time, fraternity growth has flourished at UT, numbering 26 IFC fraternities today. Fraternal life values academic achievement, community service and  promotes a spirit of pride and loyalty. Fraternities seek to enrich the lives of  undergraduate members by providing unlimited academic, leadership, athletic and social opportunities within each fraternity's unique bonds of brotherhood. The fraternal experience is intended to develop men of integrity, intellect and high moral character.

Following the undergraduate fraternity experience at UT, fraternity alumni go on to excel in industry, medicine, law, academia, and the arts. Amongst notable UT Austin fraternity alumni are renowned business leader Red McCombs, a member of Alpha Tau Omega. Legendary Dallas Cowboys head coach, the late Tom Landry, was a member of Delta Kappa Epsilon and the UT Longhorn football team. Actor Matthew McConaughey and Texas Governor Greg Abbott, both recipients of the Texas-Exes Distinguished Alumnus Award, are alumni of Delta Tau Delta. Spirits entrepreneur Bert "Tito" Beveridge was Kappa Sigma's 2017 Man of the Year.


FACT is pleased that 21 of UT Austin’s 26 fraternities participate in the voluntary membership FACT coalition. FACT membership is open to appointed representatives of a fraternity alumni board or house corporation in good standing with their respective (inter)national fraternity and our host institution, the University of Texas at Austin.

Alpha Epsilon Pi
Founded Nationally: 1913
Founded at UT: 1939
Beta Theta Pi
Founded Nationally: 1839
Founded at UT: 1886
Delta Sigma Phi
Founded Nationally: 1899
Founded at UT: 1907
Delta Tau Delta
Founded Nationally: 1858
Founded at UT: 1904
Delta Upsilon
Founded Nationally: 1834
Founded at UT: 2017
Zeta Beta Tau
Founded Nationally: 1898
Founded at UT: 1920
Zeta Psi
Founded Nationally: 1847
Founded at UT: 1979
Theta Chi
Founded Nationally: 1856
Founded at UT: 1951
Kappa Alpha
Founded Nationally: 1865
Founded at UT: 1883
Kappa Sigma
Founded Nationally: 1869
Founded at UT: 1884
Pi Kappa Alpha
Founded Nationally: 1868
Founded at UT: 1920
Sigma Alpha Mu
Founded Nationally: 1909
Founded at UT: 1921
Sigma Phi Epsilon
Founded Nationally: 1901
Founded at UT: 1930
Sigma Chi
Founded Nationally: 1855
Founded at UT: 1884
Tau Kappa Epsilon
Founded Nationally: 1899
Founded at UT: 1951
Phi Gamma Delta
Founded Nationally: 1848
Founded at UT: 1883
Phi Delta Theta
Founded Nationally: 1848
Founded at UT: 1883
Phi Kappa Theta
Founded Nationally: 1889
Founded at UT: 1959
Phi Kappa Tau
Founded Nationally: 1906
Founded at UT: 2012
Pi Kappa Phi
Founded Nationally: 1904
Founded at UT: 2007
Phi Kappa Psi
Founded Nationally: 1852
Founded at UT: 1904
Show More

© 2018 Fraternity Alumni Council of Texas

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle